Preamble

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for some time now. I will be graduating from the University of Guelph at the end of this semester (so the first week of December) and then I will have a lot of time on my hands. So I then thought of Emma Watsons “If not me, who? If not now, when?” and just dove in.

I’ve had a strong opinion from the time I was old enough to articulate one, ask my parents, they’ll back that up. I’ve also loved writing for just as long which began with writing and illustrating picture books for my baby brother before I fully understood that you needed to string together letters in recognizable words for people to be able to read them.

I identify myself as a queer feminist, I like to believe I’m a realist but its more like a cynical liberal. I also reserve the right to re-write that definition of myself at any point.

This will largely be reviews of anything and everything I want. This will include songs, articles, maybe some artwork or GIF’s, again, I reserve the right to add or subtract from that as I go.

As Lupita Nyong’o said in her speech at the “Glamour Women of the Year” awards, “I am a work in progress, and I always hope to be.”

This will be largely personal writing, though as an educated essayist I will do my best to back up my thoughts with links or references so you can continue reading from there if you so choose.

Lastly, I would like to explain the name I’ve chosen for myself a little, as I’ve been told names are very important to the first impression process.

Daemonic is a reference to classical mythology (Greek to be specific.) It describes a benevolent or benign divine being, ghost spirit or other. It was not originally meant in the “demonic” way that we now use. I feel as if feminism has also been given this connotation in the last few decades, hence their pairing.

I am a feminist because I believe in gender equality, I do not believe that men are inferior, or that women should prevail and rule the world. I do believe that we need to include 100% of the population in order to govern it in a utilitarian way. I also believe that ‘feminine’ characteristics are ‘demonized’ (demon and daemon is an important differentiation) which I hope to de-construct throughout the writing of this blog.

In other, miscellaneous information about me, I study psychology and political science. My hobbies currently include hooping, spending time in coffee shops, listening to music, watching crime / legal drama’s and bartending (I know the last one is technically a job but I prefer to think of it as a hobby for my ego’s sake.)

That’s the short version, largely because I’ve started this in order to post a specific article review. I will continue to add to this testament as the blog develops. I hope you find something interesting, enlightening or challenging here. That being said, if you hate all of it you have every right to feel that way as well.

One thought on “Preamble

Leave a Reply

